Yoga is stilling the fluctuations of the mind. 

Many people join a yoga class with fitness in mind. Their health care providers suggest a movement therapy to help with joint and muscle aches and pains. With regular practice, these same people come to realize yoga is more than a way to stay fit. The teachings of yoga may become a lifestyle that can improve their overall quality of life. 
According to Patanjali’s ancient Yoga Sutras (sutra means weaving together), there is an eight-fold path leading to freedom, known as the Ashtanga Yoga System or 8 Limbs of Yoga (the word ashta means eight and anga means limb). If you would like to read more about the 8 Limbs of Yoga listed below, check out, Light on Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar. 

  1. Yamas   Rules of moral code 
  2. Niyamas  Rules of personal behavior 
  3. Asana    Refers to yoga postures 
  4. Pranayama  Yoga breathing exercises to ignite vital life force or prana.
  5. Pratyahara   Withdrawal of the senses.
  6. Dharana    Refers to concentration.
  7. Dhyana   The practice of meditation.
  8. Samadhi   Bliss

Comments are closed